About Me

Hi there! My name's Ebony, but please call me either Edie or Bo. (Edie Walker is a pseudynom as I am not yet ready to have my friends read my blog or view my youtube videos.) I'm 18 years old and I recently just finished high school. (I'm really bad at writing about myself, so this is your warning.) This year I'm taking a break from studying, but I will be starting a Bachelor of Forensic Science early next year. I've lived my entire life in Victoria, Australia though I have lived in several towns throughout it.

There's a lot I want to do with my life and I'm constantly worried that there won't be enough time to do it all. I want to successfully complete my bachelor degree in and thus pursue a career in Forensic Science. I want to have children and I want to travel the world. Well, not the whole world, but a vast majority of it. I also hope to refocus on learning Italian so that I am more fluent and to learn French and German.

Although my family is all over the place and they're all weird and wonderful in their own way, I'd be lying to say that they're not a big part of my life. I have an older step-sister, and older step-brother, two younger half brothers and a younger half sister. I also have a nephew and two nieces with one on the way!

Apart from reading, I've always love to write (although it feels as though I've had writer's block for the past three years!) and listen to music. Music-wise, I listen to quite a wide variety of music; from Alice Cooper and Led Zeppelin to Birdy and Matt Corby. I don't watch a lot of television, but once again  I like a wide variety of shows; Dexter and Gossip Girl to Escape to the Country and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Growing up, I learnt gymnastics as well as participated in events and competitions. I loved gymnastics and it was the biggest passion I've had besides reading. However, a back injury in 2010 forced me to quit.

I've always been a book lover. Before I could read by myself, my mum read to me before bed each night. That, however, didn't last long because as soon as I could read by myself, I pushed mum away and read and read and read - and to this day I've never stopped.

Now, I read any and every genre in Adult and Young Adult although my favourite sub-genres are contemporary, historical, mystery/thriller, crime, paranormal and dystopian. I also read New Adult and Middle Grade novels, but these are dependent on genre. I also enjoy reading books about true crime.

Paperbacks & Protagonists was created on the 7th of February 2014 purely for the fact that I love books. It's also a way for me to talk about books to people who actually care (even if the only listener is my computer screen.)

Wow, for someone who isn't great at writing about themselves, I sure have managed to write a lot! If you've read all about me for this long, you deserve a pat on the back!

Feel free to follow me on either twitter or instagram, like my page on facebook, stalk me on goodreads or email me. I love being able to talk to other book lovers, so don't be shy to say hi!